skip to main text

Security Settings

This item is displayed when Menu then Management Settings is selected in the Home screen.

Important

  • Administrator privileges are required for displaying/changing some setting items. The printer may need to be restarted for some settings to be applied.
  • Authentication/Password Settings

    Make settings for the printer's authentication function.

    • Authentication Function Settings

      Make settings to enhance security with the authentication function.

      • Lockout

        Set whether to prohibit logging in for a certain period if authentication fails. If locking out the printer, you can set the printer to lock out after authentication fails a certain number of times in a row with Lockout Threshold, and the time until the printer is no longer locked out with Lockout Period.

  • Encryption Settings

    Set use of weak encryption or using a weakly encrypted key and certificate to be prohibited.

  • Verify System at Startup

    Verify that the system or applications have not been tampered with when starting up the printer or running an application.

    Important

    • If tampering is detected, the printer enters update standby mode. The firmware must be updated.

    • If no screen is displayed after a while, it may not be possible for the system to recover. Inquire at the venue where purchased or with your service technician.

  • Recommended Security Settings for Usage Environment

    Simply by selecting the type of environment, security settings recommended for your environment can be made all together at once. Check what type of environment applies with "Security Settings Navigator".

    Important

    • After changing the printer to security settings as recommended by each type, you can later erase the change and return the printer to its original state, for example if required functionality became unusable.

    • If settings for items changed with Recommended Security Settings for Usage Environment were changed manually, those changes will not be retained. The printer returns to its state before Recommended Security Settings for Usage Environment is run.